Wednesday, December 10, 2008

FSCA Legislative Update


The Governor has appointed Peter Boulware of Tallahassee to a seat on the seven-member state Board of Education that was vacated when Donna Callaway resigned in June. Boulware, 33, is an FSU graduate and former linebacker for the Baltimore Ravens who currently owns and operates an automobile dealership. He lost a close state House election last month to Democratic opponent Michelle Rehwinkel of Vasilinda. He was selected from 13 applicants.

Full story in the Tallahassee Democrat at

* * * * *


I've discussed this in bits and pieces previously, but as it stands now, here's your full Florida Legislature leadership for the 2009 session (including the just-in House positions).

Florida House of Representatives:

Speaker of the House: Ray Sansom (R-Destin)

Speaker Pro Tempore: Larry Cretul (R-Ocala)

Rules & Calendar Chair: Bill Galvano (R-Bradenton)

Majority Leader: Adam Hasner (R-Delray Beach)

Deputy Majority: Leader Ron Reagan (R-Sarasota)

Minority Leader: Franklin Sands (D-Weston)

Minority Leader: Pro Tempore Geraldine Thompson (D-Orlando)

Education Council Chair: Faye Culp (R-Tampa)

Education Council Vice-Chair: Marti Coley (R-Marianna)

Education Appropriations Chair: Anitere Flores (R-Miami)

Education Appropriations Vice-Chair: John Legg (R-Port Richey)

Florida Senate:

President: Jeff Atwater (R-Palm Beach Gardens)

President Pro Tempore: Mike Fasano (R-New Port Richey)

Rules Chair: Alex Villalobos (R-Miami)

Senate Majority Leader: Ken Pruitt (R- Port St. Lucie)

Minority Leader: Al Lawson (D-Tallahassee)

Minority Leader Pro Tempore: Charlie Justice (D-St. Petersburg)

Education Committee Chair: Nancy Detert (R-Venice)

Education Committee Vice-Chair: Frederica Wilson (D-Miami Gardens)

Education Appropriations Chair: Stephen Wise (R-Jacksonville)

Education Appropriations Vice-Chair: Gary Siplin (D-Orlando)


No comments: